Author Topic: Noob 101  (Read 2678 times)

Offline starfox1701

• Cookies: 13
Noob 101
« on: May 25, 2008, 06:33:36 AM »
Ok I'm new at this and am having CTD problems. I don't have a heavily moded game yet so heres the setup in order of install. BCMI, BCgame, 1.1 patch, BCMP(Foundation went in at this point), BCSDK, Python scripter(not at my PC and can't remeber exact name Version is I think 2.5.2)8, CG Sovi, NanoFx2.0b, and JLS Federation DamageFX. The problems started after NanoFx went in. I'm getting kicked back to my desktop tring to load my SP game On missions E6M4 and M5, and the new sovi hp script sometimes not loading. about half the time I get a crash I also get a windows error report request but not always. The only Script I have personally messed with it the Sovi hardpoint.py. I suspect this is a scripting problem but am unsure were to even start hunting unless this is a known bug with NanoFx that I being a Noob missed. I'm trying to learn how to do this but at this time only really have Armada moding experiance and this take alot more skill than ODF editing. I'm only 2 weeks in so forgive me if its a simple askd an answered thing. Just trying to get the education.

Offline MLeo

• Retired Staff
  • Cookies: 833
  • Software Simian
    • the Programming Pantheon
Re: Noob 101
« Reply #1 on: May 25, 2008, 07:03:25 AM »
After you installed a mod your save games are invalidated. Either restart SP, or go to Custom Missions screen and continue playing from the last played mission.

And installing a Python interpretter doesn't matter, BC has it's own version of Python 1.5.2 baked in.

Also, when a program crashes (any program) it can trigger a Windows Error Report window, I suspect that half your time, BC detects a big error and exits itself, so "normally" and thus not triggering a Windows Error Report window.

*Moved to Technical Support*