Author Topic: How do you fight in this game?  (Read 1047 times)

hencook

How do you fight in this game?
« on: February 10, 2009, 07:31:24 AM »
I'm new at BC, and just getting through single player...

So let's say I'm trying to disable a ship's cannons. Do I:

A: Directly "Disable" that ship's cannons
B: Disable Shield Generator, and then disable cannons
C: "Destroy" ship until the shields are down, and then disable cannons
D: Disable the specific side shield that the cannons are behind, and then disable the cannons (which i have no idea how to do?)

Does boosting my sensor array help track cloaked vessels? If I'm already attacking a vessel that I can clearly see, can I reduce the sensor array to 1%? Can I get through the Captain difficulty without Manual Fire? Are compressors a type of phaser cannon?

Offline FarShot

• That guy with good ideas...
  • Cookies: 787
  • I'm actually making stuff! :D
Re: How do you fight in this game?
« Reply #1 on: February 10, 2009, 07:41:13 AM »
In the top left corner there is a target list full of ships.  Obviously you know that if you click one of those ships, you target it.  If you click the ship's name again, a submenu appears, allowing you to target specific points on that ship, such as Bridge, Compressors (essentially alien phasers), and at that point, you don't need manual targeting (there's manual targeting and manual control, I think you mean where you use the mouse as a targeting reticule).

As for tactics, I just point and shoot  :P
Oh, and dropping sensor power to one basically only detects ships that are right next to you.  I usually don't fiddle with power things -- run and gun dude, run and gun.

I hope this has helped.
Ryan out.

hencook

« Reply #2 on: February 10, 2009, 07:46:55 AM »

As for tactics, I just point and shoot  :P
Oh, and dropping sensor power to one basically only detects ships that are right next to you.  I usually don't fiddle with power things -- run and gun dude, run and gun.